Please login
NASCOLA News - Bulletin Item

Posted: Thursday, November 20, 2008

2008 Coagulation/Hemostasis Technologist Award for Excellence

Every year, the ANIARA Coagulation / Hemostasis Technologist Award for Excellence (CHTAE) Committee recognizes a Special Coagulation Technologist in the North American continent by awarding one technologist the "The 2007 Coagulation/Hemostasis Technologist Award for Excellence" award and a check in the amount of $1,000, at the annual ASH meeting. The committe chooses the recipient from a large pool of nominations that are received every year. ANIARA Corporation does not participate in the selection process. The selection is made a by a committee of volunteer peers. The committee reviews the applications and votes to determine the recipient of the award.

2007 Committee Members:

  • Lesley Black
  • Elaine Castelli
  • Donna Castellone
  • George Fritsma
  • Susan Hoffman
  • Ed Reyes

The 2007 Committe's Decision:

Karen Moffat

"It is with great pleasure that this committee announces the selection of Karen Moffat as the 2007 reciepent of Aniara’s Coagulation Hemostasis Technologist of the year. This year over 23 letters were reviewed representing outstanding coagulation technologists, however Ms. Moffat’s achievements were exceptional. Her dedication to continuing education and excellence were made evident by her many publications and teaching efforts. She truly represents excellence in the field. We congratulate Karen and are proud to be represented by her."

"All of the nominees deserve to be congratulated for their work and contributions in the field. The committee would especially like to recognize the diligent efforts of Ms. Kim Pleus from Methodist Hospital in Indianapolis for her amazing life saving efforts in detecting overdosing of heparin in babies. She is a true asset to the field."